Pension Board Updates

At the end of 2023, Barry Gros completed his appointed term as Independent Chair for the UBC SPP Board. Barry was first appointed to the SPP Board in 2015 as a board member, and then in 2016 as Independent Chair. The SPP Board and management would like to extend their warmest thanks and appreciation to Barry for his time and valuable contributions made to the UBC SPP.

At the beginning of the year, Naveen Kapahi was appointed as the new Independent Chair. Naveen brings over 44 years of extensive pension and benefit plan experience to the UBC SPP Board. Recently retired, he spent seven years as President of D.A. Townley, the largest third-party employee benefits administrator in western Canada. Prior to that role, he was a Senior Consultant with Mercer, and he had management and consulting roles with Hewitt Associates, now known as Aon. Naveen has been a trusted advisor to numerous boards, executive committees and unions on many different aspects of target benefit pension plan design, management and administration.

Natasha Malloff was appointed to the SPP Board in October 2023. To learn more about the expertise that she brings to the SPP Board, read her biography on the Staff Pension Plan Board page.